Showing Collections: 1 - 13 of 13
Miles L. Chappell, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.034
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the personal papers of Miles L. Chappell, Jr., a professor in the Department of Fine Arts at the College of William and Mary. The papers contain correspondence between Prof. Chappell and other staff in the Department of Fine Arts; subject files; a scrapbook of clippings about the Department of Fine Arts; and photographs and negative of various Department of Fine Arts events.
Dates:
1927-2007; Majority of material found in 1965-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Circle K International Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/05/02/UA 7.053
Scope and Contents
This collection contains two scrapbooks and various loose clippings and photographs related to the student service group Circle K International at the College of William and Mary. One of the scrapbooks includes photographs, clippings, correspondence, and announcements of various events in the organization from 1964 to 1965. The other scrapbook is disbound and out of order, but contains photographs, clippings, ephemera, and reports pertaining to Circle K from 1958 to 1964. There are also...
Dates:
1958-2009; Majority of material found in 1958-1964
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mr. and Mrs. Hibbert D. Corey Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.43-2
Scope and Contents
Papers of Professor H.D. Corey, formerly economics professor at the College of William and Mary and of his wife, an active member of the Williamsburg Garden Club. Includes typescript of "American Foreign Trade Zone Policy and its Application to Hampton Roads" by Hibbert D. Corey, August 1930 and a "Rose Test Notes" scrapbook and related papers from the Williamsburg Garden Club, 1947-1957. Publications include "National Geographic" October 1954 issue,"Williamsburg: Its College and...
Dates:
1930-1958
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Earl Gregg Swem Library records
Collection
Identifier: UA 32
Scope and Contents
This collection includes both processed series and unprocessed accessions of records created by the Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary including those from component offices and individual staff members. A majority of the collection contains correspondence from the dean of the libraries and library administration. Inventories for some series and accessions are available in the Special Collections Research Center and links to PDFs of those inventories can be provided...
Dates:
1920-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Armand J. Galfo Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.019
Scope and Contents
The collection contains materials related to Dr. Armand J. Galfo's teaching in the School of Education, service to the College of William and Mary, and scholarship throughout his career, his teaching and scholarly activities, awards and achievements, and service in the Air Force and Air Force Reserves.The materials consist of correspondence, news clippings, photographs, pamphlets, publications by Dr. Galfo, research materials of Armand and Mary Galfo, teaching notes, photocopies...
Dates:
circa 1940-2008; Majority of material found in 1958-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hourly and Classified Employees Association (HACE) Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 39
Scope and Contents
Collection includes annual reports, bylaws, correspondence, employee of the month nomination letters, guidelines for archives and scrapbook materials, minutes of meetings, publications, and other miscellaneous materials.
Dates:
1986-2010
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates:
1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mortar Board Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.013
Scope and Contents
The records of the Virginia Gamma Chapter the Mortar Board honor Society at the College of William and Mary include annual reports, correspondence, fliers and publications, as well as scrapbooks.
Dates:
1929-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of University Development Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 126
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1976.001: Publications materials for J.E. Morpurgo's Their Majesties' Royall Colledge, including blue line copies, page proofs, and a paper-bound copy of the book. Acc. 1980.039: Endowment fundraising letter from Cary T. Grayson, Rear Admiral, M.C. U.S. Navy, to James P. Monroe, M.I.T., soliciting building funds for the College, 23 March 1920. Acc. 1981.075: Two copies of the Campaign for the College Final Report, 1979. One copy has...
Dates:
1920-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg Garden Club Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 W67
Scope and Contents
Papers 1920-1974. Chiefly records of the Williamsburg Garden Club including reports from committees and chairmen, reports of other Garden Club presidents, minutes from the Williamsburg Garden Club, Club years books, minutes and register from the Garden Club of Virginia, Garden Week records, various other Club records. Also included are club notebooks, scrapbooks, and a publication.
Dates:
1920-2000; Majority of material found in 1932-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William F. Willoughby Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents
Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...
Dates:
1818-1955; Majority of material found within 1891-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center